“I’ll never have it all figured out”

That’s my motto for now on. It may sound terrible at first glance but it’s the truth and it keeps me sane. I’m trying to accelerate my professional development but in reality I need to slow down. I’ve read at least twelve new education books this summer, not to mention countless articles/blog posts/resources from Twitter, and the consensus is pretty much this: “Take things one step at a time, don’t try to do too much at once, and realize that no one has it all figured out.” Trying to do too much at once will lead to disaster, poor results and burnout.

So with the students coming back in two days, I’m keeping in mind that some lessons will fail. Some days will be better than others. It’s important that I recognize these mistakes and learn from them. Luckily, in the end I know it will always be worth it. I certainly have found my passion in life.

*Keeping up with this new blog is proving to be more difficult than I thought. Sometimes, I completely forget about it between everything that I’ve been planning out. Other times, I remind myself to write a post but it never gets done. I can’t let myself slip away from this! I’m going to attempt to write a weekly post from now on.

Leave a Reply

