Writing for others to see

Blog Experiment

Once again Twitter has proven to be a great resource for professional growth. I recently stumbled upon this blog post, in which the author, Nicholas Keith, explains the difficulties of writing for others to see. Keeping a blog isn’t easy for me, mainly because I’m afraid of others seeing my “poor” writing. However, I shouldn’t be afraid to put my thoughts out there. After all, I want my students to write without a constant fear of criticism, so I must model that behavior no matter how scary it is.

This blog post has inspired me to create my own 30 day blog challenge, or rather a 30 day blog experiment. I will write a new blog post everyday regardless of how poor I think it is.I don’t have any particular topics outlined. I’m just going to sit down each day and write something that I think is worth sharing.

Day 1 : Regretful

I’ll start day 1 with one of my biggest regrets. I didn’t read much in school. I took it for granted. I was blind and ignorant. Just as my students, I felt like my time was better spent playing games or hanging out with my friends. I wanted to read, but was consumed by the others things in my life. Towards the end of my time at URI, I realized this mistake. I felt guilty that I was becoming an English teacher and didn’t value reading as much as I should have. Eventually I put down the video games and picked up a book.

Three years into teaching and I’ve read more books than I did throughout my entire academic career. I’ve completely changed my outlook on reading. I wouldn’t be the educator I am today without reading so many great books. At one point, I was trying to make up for lost time and had too many books to read. There’s no going back. I regret not reading as much as I should have, but the past is the past.

Now I need to make sure that my students don’t make the same mistake that I made.

 

Leave a Reply

