Scrambled Thoughts and Blogging.

I just read a post on The Paper Graders about unfinished thoughts by Jay Scott. He mentions having multiple unfinished blog posts. He calls them unfinished thoughts and continues to write:

“Maybe that’s how it is sometime. Lots of things flitting through out minds with little or no focus. Glimpses of one thing or another. My teaching right now is similar. Trying lots of different things. Experimenting. Searching for bits that have clarity or focus.”

Thank you Jay. This is exactly my problem whenever I sit down to write a blog post. I have every intention of finishing, but my mind wanders and I have trouble focusing on one topic-or rather I start writing about one thing and it leads me elsewhere. A new discovery. I end up feeling discouraged, but really that’s what writing is about. Making discoveries.

What follows are some unfinished thoughts of my own.


The more that I read about NCTE 16, the more determined I am to make it to NCTE 17. I’m learning so much from reading all the blog posts and tweets from that weekend. I can’t imagine what it’s like to actually be there. Next year, I’ll find out.


Doubt. It creeps into my mind on a weekly, sometimes daily basis. It replaces my feeling of success with defeat. It feasts on the small gains I make in the classroom. It whispers in my ear when I’m trying to plan for the week, telling me I’m doing things all wrong.

Thankfully, there are hundreds, if not thousands, of teachers blogging/writing/tweeting/sharing their experiences in the classroom. Every time I open my twitter feed or look through some blog posts, I am able to reassure myself that I’m doing well in my fourth year of teaching. I push doubt away and continue growing, learning and doing the best that I can for my students.


Independent reading and writing, something that leads to a love of the two, needs to be more widespread in education.

All students should have a choice in what they read and write about.

All students should have time to read and write without wondering what grade they’ll receive.

 

Developing lifelong readers and writers is more important than any ELA standard. I want kids to leave my classroom with a love for the two.


So much bounces around in my head on a daily basis, most of it revolves around education. I was told early on in my career that teaching can eat up most of your life if you’re not careful. I’m torn. Some days I think I spend too much time on my “job”. Other days I can’t imagine doing anything else. I love being a teacher. I love reading. I love writing. I love learning. I love helping others. I love that that being an educator allows me to bring so many of my passions together. Though, I do need to give enough time to the other parts of my life.

Patience is key.

Leave a Reply

