2017. My Year of Less

 

If I were a character in a video game, under weaknesses in the character description it would say “Tries too much too fast”. Though I’m sure most of us have this problem.

Even though I know I can’t do it all, I still try. Sometime most educators can relate to. I need to let go of the idea that I’ll be able to do it all…..or at least keep reminding myself that I can’t.

My one little word for 2017 is less. Do less so I can focus on more.

As an educator, there’s so much I want to do or improve. Most of the time I try something new out of excitement. I’ll see something posted on Twitter or read it in an article/book and think “woah, this needs to happen”. Next thing I know I’m moving things around to try and fit this new thing in. Or I let doubt consume me and convince me that I need to change/improve some aspect of teaching right away.

This year I want to do less. I want to slow things down and focus more intently on improving certain aspects before moving to something new. While it’s good to try new things, its counterproductive to try too many things.

2017. My year of less.

Leave a Reply

